Giving back.

I’m glad. I’m glad to have the life I have now. And I’m surrounded by people that make my life so damn colourful. There’s nothing more I could ask for. I’m just glad. But it saddens me to think that there are people out there that aren’t as lucky as I am. And I think that it’s my responsibility as a human being to help those that aren’t as lucky.

I have the utmost respect for people who work towards social service. My mom who has been a social worker for as long as I can remember has helped me shape my views towards giving back to the society. If you are spending your life helping people who need help, then you are a true winner. It doesn’t matter if you make money off of it or not. What matters is that spark in your heart. The spark that drives you to help and which brings hope into people’s lives.

Why do it though? You don’t owe anybody anything. It’s not your responsibility right? Wrong. At least in my opinion, it is. For a society to be functional, it’s very necessary for the strong to help out the weak. The concept of ‘survival of the fittest’ does not work in a world we live in now. If you can help, then you should help. And your help is important.

There are so many underprivileged children who don’t get proper food or education. So many differently abled children and adults who have a hard time fitting in and surviving in the real world. And if your contribution, however little it may be, helps them in any way possible, would you not do it?

As someone who’s writing a blog about this after attending college, I feel that it’s my responsibility to help out those who need help in chasing their dreams. My life is and has been surrounded by happiness. And I owe it to the society. To the environment that brought me up. To the people around me. To the solutions to problems that people gave. And it’s my duty to make sure that I give back to the society. Dream. Chase. Accomplish. And Help.

 

4 thoughts on “Giving back.

Leave a comment